July 1, 2021         About Us | Search Subscribe | Internal and Related Links |  Contact Us   


THE QUANTUM REVELATION: A RADICAL SYNTHESIS OF SCIENCE AND SPIRITUALITY

AUTHOR: Paul Levy (Select Books, Inc. 2018)

BOOK REVIEW

Lori P. Dexter, Special to The Review | July 1, 2021

On the nature of reality, Einstein said “reality is an illusion, albeit a very persistent one.”(By the way, you will find more than a few Einstein quotes in this book). Until recently I was one of the many people who could not even conceive of a reality that is not ‘out there’ somewhere. The thought never even entered my head. I just took it for granted that reality is something objective and independent of me. That all changed when I started reading Paul Levy’s The Quantum Revelation. It was like having a lucid dream except I wasn’t dreaming, I was awake.


Quantum physics reveals fascinating insights into the subatomic world, the building blocks of matter. The following are just a few of the ones that Levy touches on.

Quantum entities are simultaneously waves and particles. This is completely impossible from the conventional point of view, as waves and particles are polar opposites that mutually exclude each other. How can the impossible be happening? And what does it mean that it is? Clearly, when we label what is actually happening as “impossible,” something is being reflected back to us about the limited way we are viewing the world. This mystery is calling for a novel, radical, and (r)evolutionary way of thinking about things, as well as new and more conscious ways of feeling, sensing, and experiencing our world─a real “re-visioning” of our moment-by-moment
experience
     
Quantum physics is pointing at, and is an expression of, an underlying seamless and undivided wholeness in which all the parts of the universe are interconnected.

Quantum physics shows us that the underlying structure of matter is not mechanical. Our mechanical, machine-like understanding of ourselves, of the world, of the unive
rse, of reality is no longer a sufficient understanding. Our universe is more like a conscious organism than a robotic machine. Our world is more idea-like than matter-like. The building blocks that make up our world, our universe, ourselves exist in a state of ‘open-potentiality’. These elementary particles are able to inhabit at the same time every possible universe that they could possibly manifest in. Reality is a big, bubbling pot of infinite potentiality.

Read More


[Lori Dexter is a member of Emmaus Inclusive Catholic Community Edmonton/Sherwood Park, AB]

 
  RCWP Canada Bishop's Message

RCWP Canada Members and Affiliated Communities

The recent news of the discovery of 215 children buried at the Kamloops Indian Residential School and 751 unmarked graves at Cowessess First Nation has once again sent waves of trauma across the country.  My heart breaks as I read the stories of survivors of residential schools and the history of the policies of the Canadian government and the role of the churches in implementing them.  I am sure yours must, too.

As part of its mandate, the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) held listening sessions across the country to hear and record first-hand from the survivors the stories of Residential Schools.  I was able to attend some of the sessions held at the Treaty Four Grounds in Ft. Qu’Appelle, SK in 2013.  I was overwhelmed by the stories and the pain that is carried by the survivors. Before this, I was ignorant of the atrocity of genocide that is part of the legacy of white supremacy and colonialism in our country. 

In response to the Kamloops and Cowessess discoveries, there have been statements by Indigenous groups and responses by federal agencies and churches.  At a recent joint meeting of the Board of Directors and the National Leadership Circle we considered what response we could make as RCWP Canada.  Rather than another statement, the following action items are presented to you as ways to engage more deeply in the trauma of this genocide and the TRC’s calls for action to address it.
  1. Each community we pastor is asked to reflect on what they are doing to continue (or commence) initiatives at the grass roots level that work towards healing injustices in the interest of advancing truth and reconciliation.
  2. Each member of RCWP Canada is asked to take some personal action such as a book study, participate in a sharing circle, or engage in building a personal relationship with an Indigenous person or community. 
  3. RCWP Canada members are asked to use the rcwpcanadaforum to share their action plans so that our cumulative efforts can be compiled as our national “Call to Action” response.  We all have ideas to share and can offer mutual support and encouragement to one another.
June 21st is National Indigenous Peoples Day, and July 1st is Canada Day.  Particularly this year we have an opportunity to recommit ourselves to living out truth and reconciliation.  This might include making a personal Pledge of Reconciliation. Information on the pledge can be found as the first recommendation on the page of resources included with this letter.

As people of God, relatives of one another, we face the issues of our day in light of the Gospel of Jesus.  As followers of Jesus and servant leaders in our communities, I believe we have a moral obligation to do this.  Each of us as one, and all of us together, can make a difference. 

May the Spirit of Oneness bind us in love for one another as God has loved us.

+Jane

[Jane Kryzanowski, Regina, SK is bishop for RCWP Canada]




Catholic women step into the pulpit in Germany

Delphine Nerbollier, ncronline.org | May 25, 2021


Ulrike Göken-Huismann, a 59-year-old theologian and president of the Catholic Women's Association of Germany (KFD), preached at Mass last Monday in the Church of St. Maximilian in Düsseldorf in western Germany.

In fact, she has regularly given homilies at Services of the Word since 1988, which is normal practice throughout the country.

But this was different. For the second year in a row, she was one of twelve women in twelve different locations who took part in this May 17 nationwide action called "Preachers' Day".

"Our goal is to make it clear that women can preach and can do it well," says Göken-Huismann, who has two children.

Read More





Three women honored with CTSA awards; Susan Wood of Regis College, Toronto, ON, receives John Courtney Murray Award

Heidi Schlumpf, ncronline.org | June 14, 2021

All three awards presented during the Catholic Theological Society of America's virtual convention this year went to female theologians, including Susan K. Wood of Regis College at the University of Toronto, who received the John Courtney Murray Award for a lifetime of distinguished theological achievement.

Wood, a Sister of Charity of Leavenworth, Kansas, is a professor of systematic theology and an academic dean at Regis. She is known for her pioneering research on French theologian Henri de Lubac, whose ideas helped shape the Second Vatican Council, as well as her work in the areas of ecclesiology, sacraments, liturgical theology, ecclesial ministry, ecumenism and the theology of priesthood.

Read More





Comments to the Editor

I am thankful that the leader of my country is admitting fault and committing to bringing forth justice and healing, but I don't think justice and healing can come without another leader following the prime minister's lead.

Roman Catholic, Anglican, United Methodist and Presbyterian churches were the major denominations involved in the administration of the residential school system, according to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. The Catholic Church was responsible for operating up to 60% of residential schools in Canada yet the Catholic Church is the only one that has not made a formal apology.

In 2008, the federal government, under Prime Minister Stephen Harper, issued a formal apology for the damage done by the residential school system. And in 2017, Prime Minister Justin Trudeau personally asked Pope Francis to apologize during a visit to the Vatican. But the pope did not apologize.

It's puzzling especially since the pope claims absolute authority in the Catholic Church and benefits from all the power and privilege that that supreme authority brings. Yet, when the church is called out for doing wrong, the pope doesn't take responsibility.

It's past time the pope takes responsibility for the atrocities committed by the Catholic Church. Justice will not be denied to the little ones any longer.

[Lori P. Dexter, Edmonton, AB.  This letter to the editor first appeared in the National Catholic Reporter, and is published in The Review with the permission of the author.]





Updates to Canon Law Fail to Correct the “Crime” of Women’s Ordination

Sign petition:

Walk of Sorrow


 
Follow Patricia Ballentyne on Facebook during her Walk of Sorrow, Prince Albert to Ottawa




Indigenous people's lives depend on their lands, but threats are growing worldwide


Unsplash.com photo    

Barbara Fraser Leaders, ncronline.org | May 12, 2021

The threats facing Indigenous people opposing industrial operations on their lands — discrimination, harassment and assassination — all disproportionately affect women. And the coronavirus pandemic has done little to reduce the danger, say Indigenous and faith leaders.

"Indigenous women human rights defenders are at the forefront of the resistance against the effects of extractive industries and, more generally, the model relying on the exploitation of natural resources, including through mining, logging, [agricultural] monocultures and dams," Sandra Epal-Ratjen, international advocacy director for Franciscans International, said at a virtual event April 26.

Read More




Pope and Canadian Indigenous: 'Sorry' must fit the level of suffering

Cindy Wooden, ncronline.org | June 14, 2021

Canadian Cardinal Michael Czerny, who had had a meeting with the pope June 5, was asked about what the pope said after his Sunday Angelus talk and why an apology was not part of it.

The cardinal told CTV Edmonton that he thought the pope did not use the occasion to apologize because, yes, it would have been "a spontaneous moment, but if it's not well prepared, if we are not ready to receive it -- more than to receive it, to live it" -- then it would not make a difference. Instead, "it is something that should change our lives."

Archbishop Donald Bolen of Regina, Saskatchewan, said he believes the pope was "telling the leadership of the church in Canada" that the first step must be for them "to engage directly with Indigenous peoples, that we need to work with them, to listen to them, to accompany them, to apologize where appropriate, to make amends where that is asked for, and to find ways to walk together."

Read More



Ritual land acknowledgements: inculturated justice or ritual overload?


Wikipedia.org
Click map for larger size

Lizette Larson, praytellblog.com | May 10, 2021


Land acknowledgements (articulating on whose land a particular church building sits or a specific liturgy is taking place – referencing First Nation/Indigenous in Canada or Native American/American Indian in the US) has been an interesting comparative point between the two countries.

In this blog site focused on liturgy, after an introduction to the conversation, I will limit the broad topic to one ritual aspect, land acknowledgements in Canadian liturgies, recognizing that this is a small part of the larger conversation past, present, and continuing.

Read More



Discovery of burials "not news" to Native people in the United States


Marquette University photo 

Kevin Clarke, americamagazine.org | June 14, 2021

A chairperson of the American Indian Catholic Schools Network, Mr. Black Elk is the executive director for Truth and Healing at Red Cloud Indian School in Pine Ridge, S.D., a former Jesuit-run Indian boarding school. He believes it is likely that similarly informal and unmarked burials will be found among the boarding schools maintained for Native American children on the U.S. side of the border, should a substantial effort be made to look for them. After all, he pointed out, the Canadian system was modeled on the 19th-century network of boarding schools in the United States.

Read More



See what's new at:




Why this Canadian Ukrainian bishop loves Our Lady of Guadalupe

The Pillar, pillarcatholic.com | May 19, 2021

Bishop Bryan Bayda is not from Mexico City. He’s not Hispanic. In fact, he’s not even a Roman Catholic. But, however unlikely it might seem, the Canadian bishop in the Ukrainian Catholic Church has a deep, pious, and loving devotion to Our Lady of Guadalupe.

Read More




#94in94 Campaign

Inspired by the recent discoveries of unmarked graves of children at residential schools in Kamloops, Brandon, and now, Cowessess, a new social media campaign is launching on June 29 to raise awareness of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s 94 Calls to Action.

Read More and Join the Campaign





Reflections on the Sunday Readings
by Susan Roll

Reflection for the Fifteenth Sunday in Ordinary Time B July 11 2021

Amos 7: 12-15;    Psalm 85;    Ephesians 1: 3-14;    Mark 6: 7-13

One wonderful result of the liturgical reforms that resulted from the Second Vatican Council is that Roman Catholics and mainline Protestants now share almost the same readings of the Word of God on the same Sunday, or at least the same Gospel.  This Sunday is an exception though.  The Gospel reading in the Roman Missal is Mark 6: 7-13, Jesus’ instructions to the disciples that he sent out on mission.  The Revised Common Lectionary uses the text that follows right afterward, Mark 6: 14-29, the beheading of John the Baptist.*

But the second reading, the New Testament reading from Ephesians, is identical.  The passage for this Sunday plays out on nothing less than a cosmic scope and presents us with some breathtaking theological and spiritual imagery.  It’s not without its problems however.


Read More of this reflection

Read More reflections by Susan Roll

Read other reflections and homilies

>>>




RCWP Liturgies on Zoom






Search The Review or Website
search engine by freefind




Search The Review or Website with Google Search


Click here and go to a separate page  




 
Subscribe:     


RCWP Canada Links
About Us
Values
History

Ordinations

Bishop
Program Coordinator
Associates

Videos
Archives
The Review
Facebook
Twitter

RCWP Canada Members
Contact Us
Donate

Search
Are you called to be a priest?
Homilies
Francis Comic Strip Archive
Downloadable books and book-length articles

Privacy Policy
RCWP Canada Youth
RCWP Canada Liturgies on Zoom
RCWP Canada at Facebook
RCWP Canada at Twitter



Related Links

Bible

Catechism of the Catholic Church
Code of Canon Law
Vatican II Documents
Vatican II Voice of the Church
Voices of Faith
Salt + Light Television
God's Word, Many Voices
Daily Bread
National Catholic Reporter
Global Sisters Report
Mother Pelican
Catholic Women Preach
RCWP-USA
Women's Ordination Conference
Women's Ordination Worldwide
ARCWP
Catholic Network for Women's Equality
Catholic Womens Ordination (United Kingdom)
We Are Church International
We Are Church Ireland
Wijngaards Institute
Média indépendant, Présence - information religieuse
Independent Media, Presence - religious information
Femmes et Ministères
Women and Ministries
L’autre Parole
The other Word
International Association of Women Ministers (IAWM)
Nothing Sacred

The Review

RCWP Canada's online magazine provides a twice-monthly sampling of original and linked articles on women in ministry, femininism, church reform, and reconciliation with Indigenous people.
The Review


Website

RCWP Canada's website contains information about us, and includes an archive of back issues of The Review.
RCWP Canada Website


RCWP Canada Youth


A website page of music and articles of interest to those who are spiritual but not religious.
RCWP Canada Youth


Subscribe

Receive free alert messages every two weeks announcing a new issue of The Review. Send a request to: rcwpcanada@outlook.com


Donate

RCWP Canada has authorization from Canada Revenue Agency for charitable status and is able to offer income tax deductable receipts.
5 ways to donate



Google Analytics for the previous issue of The Review:



                                            





Facebook

Posts on Facebook regarding the previous issue of The Review:  199 people reached.


RCWP Canada at Facebook
Twitter

Times people saw Tweets on Twitter regarding the previous issue of The Review: 262


RCWP Canada at Twitter

To send a Comment to the Editor, please use the email address:  rcwpcanada@outlook.com
or use the form above.
                                                                                                    




Home ©2021 RCWP Canada