July 1, 2022         About Us | Search | Internal and Related Links | Events | Contact Us | Donate



Pope Francis
in Canada
Walking Together
July 24 – 29, 2022
Healing and Reconciliation




                   Vatican photo                                     

Papal Visit, papalvisit.ca | July 1, 2022

Pope Francis will make a pastoral visit to Canada from July 24 to 29, 2022. The Pope’s visit will provide a unique opportunity for him, once again, to listen and dialogue with Indigenous Peoples, to express his heartfelt closeness and to address the impact of colonization and the participation of the Catholic Church in the operation of residential schools throughout Canada. The papal visit will also provide an opportunity for the shepherd of the world’s 1.2 billion Catholics to connect with the Catholic community in Canada.

Read More


 
  RCWP Canada Bishop's Message

RCWP Canada Members, Affiliated Communities, and People of Good Will

In view of the visit of Pope Francis to Canada to issue an expected apology on Canadian soil to First Nations Peoples, the following message which was in large part presented last year at this time, seems relevant again.  Ongoing discoveries of unmarked graves at residential schools continue to sends waves of trauma across the country.  My heart breaks each time I hear the stories of survivors of residential schools and the history of the policies of the Canadian government and the role of the churches in implementing them.  I am sure yours must, too.

In response to these discoveries statements have been made by Indigenous groups and by federal agencies and churches.  At a joint meeting of the Board of Directors and the National Leadership Circle last year, we considered what response we could make as RCWP Canada.  Rather than another statement, the following action items were presented as ways to engage more deeply in the trauma of this genocide and the TRC’s calls for action to address it. I reiterate them here.

   1. Each community we pastor is asked to reflect on what they are doing to continue (or commence) initiatives at the grass roots level that work towards healing injustices in the interest of advancing truth and reconciliation.
   2. Each member of RCWP Canada is asked to take some personal action such as a book study, participate in a sharing circle, or engage in building a personal relationship with an Indigenous person or community.
   3. RCWP Canada members are asked to use the RCWP Canada Forum to share their action plans so that our cumulative efforts can be compiled as our national “Call to Action” response.  We all have ideas to share and can offer mutual support and encouragement to one another.

June 21st is National Indigenous Peoples Day, and July 1st is Canada Day.  These days provide an opportunity for us to reflect on what we have done and to recommit ourselves to living out truth and reconciliation.  As people of God, relatives of one another, we face the issues of our day in light of the Gospel of Jesus.  As followers of Jesus and servant leaders in our communities, I believe we have a moral obligation to do this.  Each of us and all of us together, can make a difference.

May the Spirit of Oneness bind us in love for one another as our Creator God has loved us.

I also want to acknowledge the 20th Anniversary of the ordination of seven women as Roman Catholic Women Priests on the Danube River on June 29, 2002.  In spite of fierce opposition from the patriarchal hierarchy of the Church, these women courageously claimed the truth of their call as disciples of Jesus to priestly ministry.  Their prophetic obedience, and that of hundreds of women ordained since then, is inspiration and hope for all who desire equality and justice for all God/de's holy people. 

Celebrations were held around the world to mark this occasion.  The July 15th issue of The Review will bring you insightful reflections on this dynamic movement of  the Holy Spirit alive within the church today.

+Jane

[Jane Kryzanowski, Regina, SK is bishop for RCWP Canada]




Pope Francis' Catholic social teaching expert in the Vatican is Emilce Cuda -- Appointment spotlights ways the Latin American church is reshaping global Catholicism

Christopher White, ncronline.org | May 7, 2022

When Emilce Cuda's phone rang in the middle of the night in late June 2021, Cardinal Marc Ouellet was on the other line from the Vatican, failing to account for the time difference between Rome and Buenos Aires.

"Will you come work for Pope Francis?" he asked.

"We're moving to Rome," Cuda texted to her family members. They immediately wanted to know the reason and position, but she had forgotten to ask.

"This was a great opportunity to give service to the church in Latin America," she recalled in an interview with NCR. "And when the pope asks you to help, you just say yes."

Read More




Pope Francis talks climate change with Bono and both agree: Women will lead the way.

Junno Arocho Esteves, americamagazine.org | May 20, 2022

Celebrating the launch of the Scholas International Educational Movement and its environmental project, Pope Francis encouraged young people, especially women, to lead the charge in fighting climate change.

“Defending nature means defending the poetry of creation, it means defending harmony. It is a fight for harmony. And women know more about harmony than us men,” the pope said during an event at Rome’s Pontifical Urban University.

U2 frontman Bono, who joined the pope for the launch, said he had been a supporter of Scholas for the past four years and was “drawn to this idea of a ‘culture of encounter.’”

Read More










                                                       Unsplash.com photo
Happy Canada Day









New head of umbrella group for women’s religious sets sights on synodality

Elise Ann Allen, cruxnow.com | May 21, 2022

Sister Nadia Coppa, the newly-elected president of one of the largest international conglomerates of women religious, is set on creating a global network of collaboration among congregations based on Pope Francis’s much-touted spirit of synodality.

Read More



Synodality and its links to African culture -- Religious leader in Senegal says Africa can help Catholics all over the world begin to better understand the Church as the "family of God"

Charles Senghor, international.la-croix.com | May 20, 2022

Sister Marie Rose Dione believes the Catholic Church should do more to explore the links between synodality and African cultures.Dione, who is provincial superior of the Sisters of the Immaculate Conception of Castres (CIC) in Senegal, says that means deepening a theology of synodality on the notion of the Church as the family of God.

Read More




Women's Ordination Conference Independent Feedback Form
We know that the consultation process outlined by the synod documents leaves open the strong possibility that feminist voices, or voices that challenge  current Church teaching, will be left out of the documents that are produced by each diocese.

Ultimately, bishops have the "final say" on what moves forward to the next stages of the synodal process. Therefore, we have created an independent mechanism for you to share your honest input, with the promise that we will share, without censorship, the views that are expressed. (We will not ask for your name. nor share any identifying information).

Whether you attend a local listening session or not, we encourage you to use this form to share your thoughts. We believe it is vital to have an independent record of what Catholics are thinking, without interference from the bishops.

Feel free to bookmark this link and return to it later, and share this link with your friends.









Pope Francis named Xaverian Sr. Nathalie Becquart as undersecretary to the Vatican's office of the Synod of Bishops, possibly with voting rights.
Her email address and website are:

synodus@synod.va

https://www.synod.va/en.html





From the Vatican Secretariat on the Synod newsletter:  Share your story

Are you a witness or are you living a particular synodal experience? Do you think you've experienced a good practice and want to share it? Complete the  attached form  and send it to  media@synod.va . If your story is original or considered good practice, we'll publish it in our next newsletter and, who knows... even VaticanNews!




PETITION TO THE POPE

A petition with all attached signatures will be submitted both to Pope Francis and to the Vatican Synodal Office which collects recommendations for Church reform.

Copies of John Wijngaards’ book which documents the need
for these reforms will be included with the submission. Organizers plan to deliver these in person to the Vatican in Spring.


For more information and to sign the petition, click here






Events

The Review pages list individual events on the following topics:

Church Renewal

Ecumenism and Interfaith

Environment

Indigenous

Social Justice

Spirituality

Women's Flourishing

[Updates to the above pages are made periodically between issues of The Review.]








UN Environment Programme -- Goal 5:  Gender equality



Understanding the links between gender inequality and environmental degradation, and taking responsive actions, can accelerate positive dynamics and promote sustainable development outcomes.

For more information and list of related goals





Reflections and Homilies on the Sunday Readings of the Roman Missal and the Revised Common Lectionary


Reflections on the Sunday Readings
      by Susan Roll

Reflections by David Jackson

God's Word, Many Voices
Catholic Women Preach
Ron Rolheiser
Richard Rohr Daily Meditations
The Sunday Website of Saint Louis University
Pastordawn
Homilies by Donald Senior
Sunday Homilies for Progressives
Fosil
Pope Francis' Homilies
Radical Discipleship
Lector's Notes
Working Preacher
Scripture for Life
Pencil Preaching



RCWP Liturgies on Zoom






Search The Review or Archives
search engine by freefind




Search The Review or Archives with Google Search


Click here and go to a separate page  




 
Subscribe:     


RCWP Canada Links
About Us
Values
History

Ordinations

Bishop
Program Coordinator
Associates

Videos
Archives
The Review
Facebook
Twitter

RCWP Canada Members
Contact Us
Donate

Search
Are you called to be a priest?
Homilies
Francis Comic Strip Archive
Downloadable books and book-length articles

Privacy Policy
RCWP Canada Youth
RCWP Canada Liturgies on Zoom
RCWP Canada at Facebook
RCWP Canada at Twitter



Related Links

Bible

Catechism of the Catholic Church
Code of Canon Law
Vatican II Documents
Vatican II Voice of the Church
Voices of Faith
Salt + Light Television
God's Word, Many Voices
Daily Bread
National Catholic Reporter
Global Sisters Report
Mother Pelican
Catholic Women Preach
RCWP-USA
Women's Ordination Conference
Women's Ordination Worldwide
ARCWP
Catholic Network for Women's Equality
Catholic Womens Ordination (United Kingdom)
We Are Church International
We Are Church Ireland
Wijngaards Institute
Média indépendant, Présence - information religieuse
Independent Media, Presence - religious information
Femmes et Ministères
Women and Ministries
L’autre Parole
The other Word
International Association of Women Ministers (IAWM)
Nothing Sacred
The Review

RCWP Canada's online magazine provides a twice-monthly selection of original and linked articles on women in ministry, femininism, church renewal, the environment, and reconciliation with Indigenous people.
The Review



About Us

RCWP Canada's AboutUs and Archives pages contain information about us, and includes an archive of back issues of The Review.
About Us
Archives



RCWP Canada Youth


A page of music and articles of interest to those who are spiritual but not religious.
RCWP Canada Youth



Subscribe

Receive free alert messages every two weeks announcing a new issue of The Review. Send a request to: rcwpcanada@outlook.com


Donate

RCWP Canada has authorization from Canada Revenue Agency for charitable status and is able to offer income tax deductable receipts.
5 ways to donate




           Google Analytics for the previous issue of The Review (June 15 - June 30, 2022):


                                            

To send a Comment to the Editor, please use the email address:  rcwpcanada@outlook.com
or use the form.
                                                                                                    




Home ©2022 RCWP Canada